Secretariat of the European Parliament

A single site for the Secretariat of the European Parliament

The remaking of the Konrad Adenauer site is consolidating the European Parliament presence in Luxembourg.

The Alcide de Gasperi Tower ("Héichhaus", architects Michel Mousel and Gaston Witry), was commissioned in 1966 by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg to house the Secretariat of the European Parliament. With its 22 floors, it was the first skyscraper built in Luxembourg. For a long time, it formed a unique modernist architectural duo with the Robert Schuman Building (architect Laurent Schmit), which from the 1970s onwards was home to the Secretariat-General of the European Parliament. The first part-session arranged in the new semi-circular debating chamber was held on 12 February 1973. The third Parliament building, the Konrad Adenauer Building, was built in 1987.

The Konrad Adenauer 2 site (KAD 2, architects Tetra Kayser, Art and Build, Studio Valle Progettazioni), significantly larger compared to the old configuration from the 1980s, will bring together all the departments of the Secretariat-General of the European Parliament, currently spread across various locations throughout Luxembourg City. The single site will house around 3,000 employees, over an area of 200,000 m2. A grand portico on Avenue John F. Kennedy marks the edge of an internal courtyard, itself punctuated by a 16-floor skyscraper in one corner. 

Between 1973 and 1979, the debating chamber accommodated 35 meetings of the European Parliament. During this period, the plenary sessions of the Parliament were arranged alternately in Luxembourg and in Strasbourg. Following the first European elections in June 1979, the number of parliamentarians rose from 208 to 410, which meant that the plenary chamber had become too small to accommodate the plenary sessions. Considerations on reassigning the site are currently underway, with a view to locating a diversified range of urban uses there.


The Robert Schuman building

Last update