Kuebebierg

A circular district with a positive impact

The Kirchberg Fund has developed an urban design charter that sets out the objectives and non-negotiables of urban and landscaping design for the “Kuebebierg” area, the last major land reserve for development, belonging wholly to the Fund.

Revealing the geography and the natural and urban landscape: the project draws its essential components from the characteristics of the natural and urban environments. The primary structure for the urban design, defined in the schedule of non-negotiables, comprises a framework of public spaces connecting the Kuebebierg to the surrounding developed spaces and to the natural landscape, a mobility framework arranged around a new, high-performing public transport offer, and a biodiversity framework enabling the future district to be articulated with its wooded surroundings.

Towards co‐mobility, as an alternative to individual car use: Mobility is thought of in terms of diversity of demands, in order to reduce the share given over to individual car use, whilst not limiting the options for mobility. All alternatives to individual car use are encouraged and promoted in the public space. This approach requires an integrated vision to respond to today’s challenges in relation to traffic movements and environmental concerns.

A city of short travel routes: The city of short travel routes aims to offer a full complement of nearby services, facilities and spaces, making it possible to lead a pleasant daily life whilst favouring active modes of transport. The tramway link also makes it possible to develop complementary options, on a city-wide scale. The offer of a mix of mobility services also facilitates different geographical options, independent of the car.

A economical approach to resources, in an eco-system infrastructure: The project, through its design, set-up, forms and materials, seeks to make best use of the available resources (sun, wind, water, soil permeability, etc.) to reduce the needs of the buildings (heat, cold, light) and of urban spaces (lighting, utilities, etc.) and, simultaneously, to offer optimum living conditions (comfort, health) for residents.

Towards a social mix and urban vitality: The aim of the project is to build an environment promoting a social and generational mix and, more generally, facilitating diversity of lifestyles.

A dynamic strategy: The ambition of the project is to create together the conditions needed to achieve the social, environmental and landscaping quality objectives. The breadth of the project and the lead time for realising it require definition of a dynamic global strategy and intermediate objectives. This needs to take account of the progressive maturation of the urban offer, whilst ensuring desirable balance is achieved as urban development is progressed across the whole sector. The challenge is therefore to construct a time strategy which simultaneously takes account of the long-term objectives, the intermediate phases, the dynamics generated by the sector’s various transformation phases, changes in lifestyles during the urban development, and the possibility of urban changes beyond the current programme. Implementing the urban project, and its success, call for infrastructures to be created from the initial phases, along with the resources needed to ensure a balanced situation during the interim period and at the end, particularly with regard to local resources for everyday needs, together with mobility options.

In parallel, the Fund has adopted a “cradle to cradle”-inspired approach, aiming to generate positive impacts at the social, environmental and economic level, while putting individual well-being at the centre of these initiatives, which has led to a definition of a global vision: Living well in an urban setting in symbiosis with its environment. 

Based on this, in November 2019 the Fund launched a restricted paid tender for urban designers, landscape designers and urban sociologists, looking to devise an urban development plan based on studies conducted in advance (mobility, water management, energy, environment and ecological mitigations, economics and viability). The result is due to be announced in 2022.

The objectives by themes

Mobility and public spaces: creating the city of short travel routes

Encouraging active mobility

  • Creating direct and safe axes, to develop an attractive network in line with the aim of a “city of short travel routes” on the Kuebebierg
  • Diversifying mobility modes and services for people
  • Implementing a new tram line

Restricting car traffic

  • A single vehicular access to the district
  • An ambitious ratio of 0.5 cars per home
  • Enforced width restrictions for individual motorised transport, “shared spaces” for multiple types of mobility, and speed zones calmed to 20 or 30 km/h.

Offering local spaces, services, shops and facilities

Creating grouped car parking

  • Creating car parks with parking spaces for the needs of residents and visitors, and offering mobility services as car-sharing, bikes and others (the “smart mobility hub” concept)

Offering local spaces, services, shops and facilities

Promoting resident well-being

  • Promoting social exchanges
  • Creating an identity for the district
  • Finding a balance between density, quality of space and privacy
  • Creating an environment on a human scale
  • Facilitating integration of green spaces and leisure spaces

Energy

Maximising the production of renewable energy

The energy strategy for the district is based on these four pillars:

  • Using energy efficiently
  • Producing the maximum renewable energy on-site
  • Storing energy to cover the maximum energy needs on-site
  • Exploring innovative and groundbreaking solutions 

Water

Reusing the water cycles

  • Limiting the use of drinking water to situations when high quality is required (food, hygiene)
  • Using rainwater and treated grey water for irrigation, cleaning, toilet flushing and other uses, to reduce wastage as far as possible.
  • Rainwater: 
    •  Minimising the impact of urban development on the local environmental context. Retaining the potential energy of the water as much as possible throughout its journey (cascading).
    • Retention on roofs, inside the islands and in the nodes of the public space, and in the water retention basins en route to the drains system.
  • Limiting ground sealing

Natural environment

The Kuebebierg plateau is part of a sensitive environment defined by the topography and framed to the south (Märtesgrond valley), to the west (western edge of the plateau) and to the north (Grünewald forest) by protected areas which partially overlap (Natura 2000 area and Kuebebierg protected area of national interest).

Developing urban planning that respects these protected areas

  • Respecting the natural elements present on the site (e.g. by retaining the existing orchard)
  • Keeping developed areas at a distance from protected areas by creating buffer zones and leisure spaces in the district
  • Creating north-south corridors (connecting the protected areas and creating corridors for fauna, including birds and bats) and ecological networks
  • Creating spaces optimising climatic conditions and air quality
  • Limiting soil disturbance, to encourage natural run-off of rainwater and preserving the quality of the natural soil

Promoting environmentally-friendly development in the district

  • Choosing plantings of indigenous species (creating grasslands in place of lawns, self-seeding vegetation, lines of trees, copses, shrubs, etc.) adapted to the site
  • Greened façades and roofs
  • Introducing a city farm:
    • Participating in the city of “short travel distances” strategy, via local production and sale
    • Allowing agriculture to be maintained on the site, and retaining the farming heritage
    • Education and awareness-raising about where our food comes from
    • Putting together a bid for maintaining the public green spaces in the district

 

Technical file

Area: 33 ha

Number of dwellings: 3,127

Approval of the first PAP NQ, corresponding to the first-phase urban development of the Kuebebierg: 2025

Completion of the new structural axis (Boulevard Kuebebierg): 2027

Tram taken into service: 2028

Last update

Kuebebierg

Un quartier circulaire à impact positif

Le Fonds Kirchberg a développé une Charte d’urbanisation qui définit les objectifs et invariants urbanistiques et paysagers pour la partie « Kuebebierg », dernière grande réserve foncière à urbaniser, appartenant uniquement au Fonds.

Révéler la géographie et le paysage naturels et urbains : Le projet puise ses composantes fondamentales dans les caractéristiques environnementales naturelles et urbaines. La structure primaire de l’urbanisation, définie dans le plan des invariants, est composée d’une trame d’espaces publics reliant le Kuebebierg aux espaces urbanisés environnant et au grand paysage, d’une trame de mobilité organisée autour d’une nouvelle offre de transport en commun performant, d’une trame de biodiversité permettant d’articuler le futur quartier avec son environnement forestier.

Vers une co‐mobilité alternative à l’usage individuel de la voiture: La mobilité est pensée en termes de diversités des demandes afin de réduire la part de l’usage individuel de la voiture tout en ne limitant pas les possibilités de mouvement. Toutes les alternatives à l’usage individuel de la voiture sont favorisées et mises en valeur dans l’espace public. Cette approche nécessite une vision intégrée pour répondre aux enjeux de circulations et environnementaux contemporains.

Une ville des courtes distances : La ville des courtes distances vise à offrir un ensemble de services, d’équipements et d’espaces de proximité permettant de mener une vie quotidienne agréable en privilégiant les modes actifs. La desserte du tramway permet aussi de développer des pratiques complémentaires à l’échelle métropolitaine. L’offre d’un bouquet de services de mobilité permet en outre différentes pratiques territoriales indépendantes du tout voiture.

Une approche économe des ressources dans une infrastructure écosystémique : Le projet, par sa conception, ses implantations, ses formes, ses matières, cherche à profiter au mieux des ressources disponibles (soleil, vent, eau, perméabilité des sols, …) pour réduire les besoins des bâtiments (chaleur, froid, lumière) et des espaces urbains (éclairage, réseau, …) et simultanément, proposer des conditions de vie (confort, qualités sanitaires) optimales pour les habitants.

Vers une mixité sociale et une intensité urbaine : L’objectif du projet est de construire un environnement favorisant la mixité sociale, générationnelle et plus généralement de permettre une diversité de modes de vies.

Une stratégie dynamique : L’ambition du projet est de créer l’ensemble des conditions nécessaires pour atteindre des objectifs de qualité sociale, environnementale, paysagère. L’ampleur du projet et l’étalement de sa réalisation dans le temps, nécessitent de définir une stratégie dynamique globale et des objectifs intermédiaires. Ceci en tenant compte de la maturation progressive de l’offre urbaine tout en assurant des équilibres souhaitables dans l’entre-temps de l’urbanisation de l’ensemble du secteur. Il s’agit donc de construire une stratégie temporelle qui tienne compte à la fois des objectifs à long terme, des phases intermédiaires, des dynamiques générées par les différentes phases de transformation du secteur, des évolutions des modes de vie au cours de son urbanisation, de la possibilité d’évolutions de la ville au-delà de la programmation actuelle. La mise en oeuvre du projet urbain et sa réussite nécessitent de créer, dès les premières phases, les infrastructures et les ressources nécessaires pour assurer à la fois dans l’entre-temps et à terme une situation équilibrée, en particulier en ce qui concerne les ressources de proximité pour la vie quotidienne et les pratiques e mobilité.

Parallèlement, l’adoption du Fonds de l’approche inspirée « cradle to cradle », visant à générer des impacts positifs au niveau social, environnemental et économique tout en mettant le bien-être des individus au centre de ces démarches, a aboutie dans une définition de vision globale: Bien vivre en milieu urbain en symbiose avec son environnement. 

Sur cette base le Fonds a lancé en novembre 2019 une consultation rémunérée restreinte pour urbanistes, paysagistes et sociologues urbains en vue de l’élaboration d’un schéma d’urbanisation basé sur des études réalisées en amont ( mobilité, gestion de l’eau, énergie, environnement et compensations écologiques, économie et viabilité). L’annonce du résultat est prévue pour 2022.

Les objectifs par thèmes

Mobilité et espaces publics : créer la ville des courtes distances

Favoriser la mobilité active

  •  Création d’axes directs et sécurisés afin de développer un réseau attractif suivant l’objectif de la « ville des courtes distances » au Kuebebierg
  • Diversifier les modes et services de mobilité des personnes
  • mise en service d'une nouvelle ligne de tram

Limiter la circulation de la voiture

  • Un seul accès carrossable vers le quartier
  • Ratio ambitieux de 0,5 voitures par logement
  • Largeurs restreintes de gabarit pour transport individuel motorisé, des « shared spaces » à plusieurs types de mobilité et des zones à vitesse apaisée à 20 respectivement 30km/h.

Offrir des espaces, des services, des commerces et des équipements de proximité

Créer des parkings groupés pour voitures

  • créer des parkings regroupés rassemblant les stationnements pour les besoins des résidents, des visiteurs et offrant des services mobilité type car-sharing, vélos et autres (concept de « smart mobility hub »).

Offrir des espaces, des services, des commerces et des équipements de proximité

Favoriser le bien-être des habitants

  • Favoriser l’échange social
  • Créer une identité de quartier
  • Trouver l’équilibre entre la densité, la qualité de l’espace et l’intimité
  • Créer un environnement à l’échelle humaine
  • Promouvoir l’intégration d’espaces de verdure et de récréation

Energie

Maximiser la production d’énergies renouvelables

L’approche énergétique du quartier se base sur les quatre piliers suivants :

  •  Utiliser l’énergie de manière efficiente
  • Produire un maximum d’énergie renouvelable sur site
  • Stocker l’énergie pour couvrir un maximum des besoins en énergie sur site
  • Explorer des solutions innovatrices et pionnières

 

Eau

Valoriser les cycles de l’eau

  • limiter l’usage de l’eau potable aux applications à haute exigence de qualité (alimentaire, hygiène)
  • se servir des eaux de pluie et des eaux grises traitées pour les besoins d’irrigation, nettoyage, WC et d’autres usages afin de veiller à la réduction au maximum du gaspillage.
  •  Eau de pluie : 
    • Minimalisation de l’impact de l’urbanisation sur le contexte environnemental local. Conserver au mieux l’énergie potentielle de l’eau tout au long de son trajet (utilisation en cascades).
    • Rétention en toiture, à l’intérieur des ilots et dans les noues dans l’espace public, dans les bassins de rétention d’eau vers la canalisation.
  • Limiter les scellements de sol

Environnement naturel

Le plateau du Kuebebierg s’inscrit dans un environnement sensible marqué par la topographie et cerné au sud (vallon du Märtesgrond), à l’ouest (extrémité Ouest du plateau) et au nord (forêt de Grünewald) par des zones protégées qui se chevauchent partiellement (zone Natura 2000 et zone de protection d’intérêt national Kuebebierg).

Développer un urbanisme qui respecte ces zones protégées

  • Respecter des éléments naturels présents sur le site (par exemple par la conservation du verger existant)
  • Mise à distance de l’urbanisation des aires protégées à travers la création de zones tampons et d’espaces récréatifs au sein du quartier
  • Créer de couloirs Nord-Sud (relier les zones protégées et créer des couloirs pour la faune dont les chauves-souris et oiseaux) ainsi que des maillages écologiques
  • Créer des espaces optimisant les conditions climatiques et la qualité de l’air
  • Limiter les mouvements de terre favorisant un écoulement naturel des eaux pluviales et préservant la qualité du sol naturel

Privilégier un aménagement écologique au sein du quartier

  • Choix de plantations d’essences indigènes (création de prairie à la place des pelouses, végétation spontanée, rangées d’arbres, bosquets, arbustes…) adaptées au site
  •  Façades et toitures végétalisé
  • Implantation d’une ferme urbaine :
    • Participer à la stratégie d’une ville « courtes distances » par une production et vente local
    • Permettre le maintien de l’agriculture sur site et la conservation d’un patrimoine
    • Pédagogie et sensibilisation sur la provenance de nos aliments
    • Constituer une offre pour l’entretien des espaces verts publics au sein du quartier

 

Fiche technique

Surface: 33 ha

Nombre de logements: 3127

Approbation du 1er PAP NQ correspondant à la première phase d'urbanisation du Kuebebierg: 2025

Finalisation du nouvel axe structurant (Boulevard Kuebebierg): 2027

Mise en service du tram: 2028

Dernière modification le