Arboretum

Europe as seen through its forestry

Across the Kirchberg district, over 500 species of European trees and shrubs are waiting to be discovered.

The project to establish an arboretum in Kirchberg was launched by the Fund in the early 1980s, as part of the reorientation of the urban redevelopment towards a classic district of the city. In line with the design presented in 1991 by the landscape architect Peter Latz, the arboretum extends across all the green spaces on the plateau, from the wooded escarpment of Fort Thüngen, via the Place de l’Europe, Parc Central, Parc Réimerwee and Parc Klosegrënnchen, to the neighbouring forests. A unique collection, as full as possible with European trees and shrubs, hardy in the Luxembourg climate, has been brought together. Similarly, the various habits and uses of trees are shown (specimen trees, copses, walks, groupings of species, etc.)

The plantings were begun in 1994, with specimen oaks planted along the cycle path in Parc Réimerwee. Since then, some 40,000 trees and shrubs have been planted in the parks: in 1995, the paths were remade and a collection of beeches found a home in Parc Réimerwee. That same year, the terracing works in the Klosegrënnchen started. The planting of this park was undertaken in several stages between 1997 and 1999. The Fund completed development of Parc Central in spring 2000.

As far as possible, the plants are grown from seeds collected in natural populations of the species. Precise data on the provenance, growth habit and biology of the trees are held in a database maintained by the National Museum of Natural History. The labelling on the plants shows their botanical name, the family, geographical spread and common name in four languages (Luxembourgish, German, French and English). The collection currently comprises some 500 species, sub-species and different varieties.

 

 

Discover the parks and the arboretum with a guide

Last update

Arboretum

L'Europe sous son aspect forestier

A travers le Kirchberg plus de 500 espèces d'arbres et arbustes européen sont à découvrir.
 

Le projet d'établir un arboretum au Kirchberg fut lancé au début des années 1980 par le Fonds dans le cadre de la réorientation du développement urbanistique vers un quartier de ville classique. Selon la conception présentée en 1991 par l'architecte paysagiste Peter Latz, l'arboretum s'étend à travers tous les espaces verts du plateau, depuis l'escarpement boisé du Fort Thüngen, par la place de l'Europe, le Parc Central, le Parc Réimerwee, le Parc Klosegrënnchen, jusqu'aux forêts avoisinantes. Une collection unique, aussi complète que possible des arbres et arbustes européens, rustiques sous le climat luxembourgeois, est assemblée. De même les différents ports et utilisation des ligneux sont présentés (arbres solitaires, bosquets, allées, alignements d'espèces etc. )

Réalisation

Les plantations ont a été entamée en 1994 avec des chênes solitaires le long de la piste cyclable dans le parc Réimerwee. Depuis quelque 40 000 arbres et arbustes ont été plantés dans les parcs: En 1995, les chemins ont été refaits et une collection de hêtres trouva sa place au Réimerwee. La même année, les travaux de terrassement ont débuté au Klosegrënnchen. La plantation de ce parc a été effectué en plusieurs étapes entre 1997 et 1999. Le Fonds a fini l'aménagement du Parc Central au printemps 2000.

Gestion scientifique

Les plantes proviennent autant que possible de semences collectées dans des populations naturelles de l'espèce. Les données exactes sur la provenance, le développement  et la biologie des ligneux sont conservées dans une base de données entretenue par le Musée nationale d'histoire naturelle. L'étiquetage des plantes renseigne sur le nom scientifique, la famille, la répartition et le nom en quatre langues (luxembourgeois, allemand, français et anglais). La collection comporte actuellement quelque 500 espèces, sous-espèces et variétés différentes.

 

 

Découvrir les parcs et l'arboretum avec un guide

Dernière modification le