Living on Kirchberg

A district that lives, a district that is changing!

Since the construction of the first building, the famous “Héichhaus”, this district has been inventing and reinventing itself. During the 1970s, those wielding political power were still advocating concepts to promote the free movement of traffic. An urban expressway carved the district into two disconnected halves. With its large buildings, located centrally in their plots, the Kirchberg was primarily a place of work, firstly for European officials, and later also for those working in the financial sector.

Today, more and more residential districts are appearing. Kirchberg remains a verdant area with open spaces. Initiatives such as "Quartier Stuff" attest to a strong impetus to get involved amongst those who live here, who also want to have a say in forging the image of their district. Shops and restaurants are increasingly locating in the ground floors of the buildings. The University Campus and the National Library add a touch of youth to this white-collar district. The tram, with its multi-modal transport concept, and a network of cycle paths afford a high quality of life to those wanting to forego use of the car as far as possible.

The cultural life of the Kirchberg district is not limited to concerts in the Philharmonie or to exhibitions in the Mudam. It is equally to be found in its parks and public spaces, which are meeting-places for residents and for workers.

Despite its dynamic and resolutely contemporary character, Kirchberg will remain an affordable district with an offer of diverse accommodation – to suit every budget. 

Discover the affordable housing programme! 

Discover the affordable housing programme

Last update

Vivre au Kirchberg

Un quartier qui vit, un quartier qui change !

Depuis la construction du premier bâtiment – le célèbre «Héichhaus» – le quartier s’invente et se réinvente. Dans les années 1970, les responsables politiques préconisaient encore des concepts favorables à la circulation des voitures. Une voie rapide coupait le quartier en deux parties non communicantes. Avec ses grands bâtiments, placés en milieu de parcelle, le Kirchberg était avant tout un lieu de travail, d’abord pour les fonctionnaires européens, ensuite aussi pour les employés de la place financière.

Aujourd’hui, de plus en plus de quartiers résidentiels apparaissent. Le Kirchberg reste un endroit vordoyant aux espaces aérés. Des initiatives comme la «Quartierstuff» témoignent d’un véritable élan de participation parmi les habitants qui veulent forger, eux aussi, l’image de leur quartier. Des commerces et des restaurants s’implantent de plus en plus dans les rez-de-chaussée des bâtiments. Le campus universitaire et la bibliothèque nationale donnent une touche de jeunesse à ce quartier des cols blancs. Le tram avec son concept de transport multimodal et un réseau de pistes de vélo apporte une grande qualité de vie à ceux qui veulent renoncer le plus possible à l’utilisation de la voiture.

La vie culturelle du Kirchberg ne se limite pas aux concerts à la Philharmonie ou aux expositions au Mudam. Elle trouve sa place dans les parcs et espaces publics qui sont des lieux de rencontre pour les habitants et les salariés

Malgré son caractère dynamique et résolument contemporain, le Kirchberg restera un quartier abordable avec une offre de logement variée accessible à tous les revenus.

 

Découvrez le programme des logements abordables !

Dernière modification le