Community gardens

Cultivating the ground between neighbours

A true contemporary phenomenon, urban gardens are becoming increasingly popular. Their aims: reconnecting with nature, knowing where fruits and vegetables come from, and dialogue with other residents.

A community garden is a garden created, cultivated and managed by a group of residents. The gardens on the Kirchberg are cultivated in line with environmental criteria, i.e. without using pesticides or chemical fertilizers, and with no genetically-modified organisms (GMOs).

Following the major success of the temporary vegetable patches, the Kirchberg Fund has built new community gardens, as a more permanent arrangement, on plots in the Grünewald district.

The gardens are reserved for residents in the district, to enable gardeners to get to them without a car and to meet up there with neighbours and friends from the area. They are managed by Quartier Stuff Grünewald asbl.

In collaboration with Auchan supermarket, the Fund has also installed collaborative gardens, also open to those working on the Kirchberg. Unlike the community gardens, where the members have their own patch of ground, upkeep of the collaborative gardens is a collective effort. Supervision of the gardening work is handled by the Belgian company Skyfarms, whose charges are paid by Auchan.

Last update

Jardins communautaires

Cultiver la terre entre voisins

Véritable phénomène contemporain, les jardins urbains trouvent de plus en plus d'adeptes. Leurs buts: renouer avec la nature, connaître l'origine des fruits et légumes tout en s'échangeant avec d'autres habitants.

Un jardin communautaire est un jardin créé, cultivé et géré par un groupe d'habitants. Les jardins du Kirchberg sont cultivées selon des critères écologiques, c.-à-d. sans pesticides, ni engrais chimiques, ni organismes génétiquement modifiés (OGM).

Suite au grand succès des potagers éphémères, le Fonds Kirchberg a aménagé de nouveaux jardins communautaires, plus permanents, sur les placettes du quartier Grünewald.

Les jardins sont réservés aux habitants du quartier pour permettre aux jardiniers de s'y déplacer sans voiture et de s'y retrouver entre voisins et amis du quartier. Ils sont gérés par la Quartierstuff Grünewald asbl.

En collaboration avec le supermarché Auchan, le Fonds a en plus implanté des jardins collaboratifs, ouverts aussi aux salariés du Kirchberg. Contrairement au jardin communautaire où les membres ont leur propre lopin de terre,  l'entretien du jardin collaboratif dépend de l'effort commun. Le suivi des travaux de jardinage est assuré par la société belge Skyfarms, dont les honoraires sont payés par Auchan.

Dernière modification le