European Commission

A new site for the Commission

The old building having reached the end of its life, a new complex is under construction to meet the needs of the European Commission.

The European Commission occupied the Jean Monnet building between 1975 and the start of 2017. In 2009, the government, the Fund and the European Commission signed a memorandum of understanding for replacement of the building with a future Jean Monnet 2 building. Following an international competition in 2010, the architects’ office KSP Jürgen Engel Architekten was chosen to develop the project. The Administration of Public Works (Administration des bâtiments publics), as project owner, will build this new complex in two phases, slightly staggered.

The first part is located behind the Chamber of Commerce, between Rue Antoine de Saint-Exupéry and Boulevard Konrad Adenauer. It brings together all the key elements of the Commission’s facilities, over some 138,000 m2 in a building comprising seven floors. It will house the following functions: offices, a conference centre including an auditorium, a library, a medical centre, a catering area, a logistics centre, a health centre and an underground car park with some 2,000 spaces.

The second phase, covering 52,000 m2, comprises a 23-floor tower which is the same height as the first two towers of the Court of Justice, and it will be located on a site bordering the current Rue Albert Wehrer, which was where the conference centre of the Jean Monnet 1 building was situated.

The Jean Monnet 2 complex will be able to house around 3,600 officials, and will enable the vast majority of the European Commission’s services in Luxembourg to be brought together there, whereas today they are dispersed around the Kirchberg and Cloche d’Or areas.

In the meantime, the Fund is involved in rehousing these officials by providing a temporary modular structure (15,342 m2 with 540 workstations, meeting rooms, a canteen and a kitchen) in the area around Boulevard Pierre Frieden. The Fund also organised a restricted competition for artists, aimed at generating a sketch for painting of the façade facing onto Boulevard Pierre Frieden. The graphic artist Paul Kirps won this competition, with his “Global Village” design.

Demolition of the Jean Monnet 1 building

The Fund was also the project owner for demolition of the old Jean Monnet 1 complex. The Fund had elected to make the works site a demonstration project and a model case for the selective demolition of buildings. In fact, the Luxembourg legislation requires that prevention, reuse and recycling of wastes originating from construction and demolition are to be encouraged, in compliance with the waste hierarchy. Sorting and collection of the various categories of waste, undertaken as carefully as possible, should be realised in order to achieve high-quality recycling.

The amended law of 21 March 2012 governing waste also sets out that an inventory of construction materials should be drawn up prior to dismantling. It constitutes a valuable planning tool in the management of resources, the separated collection of construction materials and their efficient use as resources in Luxembourg.

With regard to deconstruction of the old Jean Monnet building, 400 tonnes of aluminium, 150 tonnes of glass and 45 tonnes of wood were sent to recycling companies in Luxembourg and in the Greater Region.

The inventory of materials also enables tendering documents with full, high-quality information to be drawn up, making it easier for bidders to put in accurately-costed bids. For the open tenders relating to clearance of the Jean Monnet 1 building, for example, the companies were required to submit a detailed memorandum on the proposed solutions, notably including details on sorting of waste, removal of materials and recycling channels.

 

The new project under construction
The temporary building JMOT
The old building from the 1970's

Last update

Commission européenne

Un nouveau site pour la Commission

L'ancien bâtiment étant venu à la fin de son cycle de vie, un nouveau complexe est en voie de construction pour les besoins de la Commission européenne.

La Commission européenne occupait le bâtiment Jean Monnet entre 1975 et début 2017. En 2009, le Gouvernement, le Fonds et la Commission européenne ont signé un mémorandum d’accord sur le remplacement du bâtiment par un futur bâtiment Jean Monnet 2. Suite à une consultation internationale en 2010, le bureau d’architectes KSP Jürgen Engel Architekten a été retenu pour l’élaboration du projet. L’Administration des bâtiments public, en tant que maître d’ouvrage, construira ce nouveau complexe en deux phases légèrement décalées.

La première partie se situe derrière la Chambre de Commerce, entre la rue Antoine de Saint-Exupéry et le boulevard Konrad Adenauer. Elle regroupe l’essentiel des installations de la Commission sur quelque 138 000 m2 dans un bâtiment comportant 7 niveaux. Elle accueillera les fonctions suivantes : bureaux, centre de conférences comprenant un auditoire, une bibliothèque, un centre médical, une zone de restauration, un centre de logistique, un centre de santé et un parking souterrain de quelque 2 000 emplacements.

La deuxième phase de 52 000 m2 est constituée d’une tour de 23 étages et de même hauteur que les deux premières tours de la Cour de Justice et sera implantée sur un terrain qui borde l’actuelle rue Albert Wehrer, où se situait le centre de conférence du bâtiment Jean Monnet 1.

Le complexe Jean Monnet 2 aura une capacité d’hébergement d’environ 3600 agents et permettra de réunir sur un même site la grande majorité des services de la Commission Européenne au Luxembourg, aujourd’hui dispersé sur le Kirchberg et à la Cloche d’Or.

En attendant, le Fonds participe au relogement des fonctionnaires moyennant mise à disposition d’une structure modulaire provisoire (15 342 m2 avec 540 postes de travail, salles de réunion, cantine, cuisine) aux abords du boulevard Pierre Frieden. Le Fonds a par ailleurs organisé une consultation restreinte entre artistes en vue d’obtenir une esquisse pour la mise en peinture de la façade donnant sur le boulevard Pierre Frieden. C’est le graphiste Paul Kirps qui a remporté la consultation avec le graphisme « Global Village ».

La déconstruction du bâtiment Jean Monnet 1

Par ailleurs, le Fonds fut le maître d'ouvrage de la déconstruction de l'ancien complexe Jean Monnet 1. Le Fonds avait choisi de faire du chantier un projet pilote et un cas exemplaire pour la déconstruction sélective des bâtiments. En effet, la législation luxembourgeoise exige que la prévention, la réutilisation et le recyclage des déchets issus de la construction et de la démolition soient promus conformément à la hiérarchie des déchets. Un tri et une collecte aussi soigneux que possible des différentes catégories de déchets doivent être réalisés afin de parvenir à une valorisation de haute qualité.

 La loi modifiée du 21 mars 2012 relative aux déchets prévoit également qu’un inventaire des matériaux de construction doit être établi préalablement au démantèlement. Il constitue un instrument de planification précieux pour la gestion des ressources, la collecte séparée des matériaux de construction et leur utilisation efficace en tant que ressources au Luxembourg.

En ce qui concerne la déconstruction de l’ancien bâtiment Jean Monnet, 400 tonnes d’aluminium, 150 tonnes de verre et 45 tonnes de bois ont été acheminées vers des entreprises de recyclage du Luxembourg et de la Grande Région.

L’inventaire des matériaux permet aussi d’établir des dossiers de soumission avec des informations de qualité complètes qui facilitent la tâche aux soumissionnaires de remettre des offres calculées au plus juste. Pour les soumissions publiques relatives au curage du bâtiment Jean Monnet 1, les entreprises ont par exemple dû remettre un mémoire détaillé des solutions proposées comportant notamment des informations au sujet du tri, de l’évacuation des matières et des filières de réutilisation.

Le nouveau projet en construction
Le bâtiment provisoire JMOT
L' ancient bâtiment des années 1970

Dernière modification le