Court of Justice of the European Union

 

A work built over 40 years

Since locating on Kirchberg in 1974, the European Court of Justice has undergone several enlargements. Its third tower is the tallest building in the country.

The initially-constructed Palais building is the work of the architects Jean-Paul Conzemius,  Francis Jamagne and Michel Van der Elst. The first three extensions were realised by the architects’ office of Paczowski and Fritsch.

The forth major extension (2008) is the work of French architect Dominique Perrault, in collaboration with the Luxembourg architects’ offices Paczowski & Fritsch and M3 architects. Since then the Palais, fully reconstructed, has been enclosed by the Anneau, a ring structure. This is where the institution’s public spaces and judges’ chambers are located. The Anneau, a two-storey building, is open on the ground floor, as an extension of the piazza, bringing the public space right beneath the building. The Towers A, B (2008) and C (2019) are located on Rue du Fort Niedergrünewald and today house around 1,800 officials, a large part of these working in the translation services.

Extending in height

The architectural ensemble is served by a gallery, which constitutes the connecting element between the new and old buildings. A true backbone, it houses a cafeteria, services, training rooms and the library. Since the inauguration of the third tower in 2019, the gallery now extends over a length of 630 metres and offers a new access to the site in the north-west section, via a large stairway connecting it to the third tower and to the piazza of the Palais.

Wider than the existing two twin towers, the third tower comprises two sections that are slightly offset. One part is similar in proportions to the twin towers A and B, and similarly in a golden colour, while the wider section is in a dark colour with a mirror effect, recalling the ring structure around the Palais. Tower C has 30 floors – six floors more than Towers A and B – and, at 118 metres, it is the tallest building in the Grand Duchy. At its top, it houses a belvedere and, at its base, associated functions such as meeting rooms, a printing shop, a data centre and sports facilities. The fifth extension now allows all the Court’s services to be brought together on a single site.

Long-term, a themed garden celebrating multilingualism will be developed to the north-east of the site. It will incorporate the security measures specific to the European Institutions, in such a way as to create a fluid transition to the public space. The garden will be sited on land belonging to the Fund, which will remain reserved for a future extension of the European Court of Justice.

 

Last update

Cour de justice de l'Union européenne

Un opus bâti sur 40 ans

 

Depuis son installation au Kirchberg en 1974, la Cour de Justice de l’Union européenne a connu plusieurs agrandissements. Sa troisième tour est le bâtiment le plus haut du pays.

Le palais construit en premier est l’œuvre des architectes Jean-Paul Conzemius, Francis Jamagne et Michel Van der Elst. Les trois premières extensions ont été réalisées par le bureau d’architecture Paczowski et Fritsch.

La 4e grande extension (2008) est l’œuvre de l’architecte français Dominique Perrault associé aux bureaux d’architectes luxembourgeois Paczowski & Fritsch et M3 architectes. Depuis, le palais, entièrement reconstruit, est entouré d’une structure en anneau. C’est ici que se trouvent les espaces publics de l’institution et les bureaux des juges. L’anneau, haut de deux niveaux, est ouvert au rez-de-chaussée, dans le prolongement du parvis, amenant l’espace public jusque sous le bâtiment. Les tours A, B (2008) et C (2019) sont situées rue du Fort Niedergrünewald et accueillent aujourd’hui environ 1800 fonctionnaires dont une grande partie appartient aux services linguistiques.

Des extensions en hauteur

L’ensemble architectural est desservi par une galerie qui constitue l’élément fédérateur entre les nouveaux et anciens bâtiments. Véritable épine dorsale, elle accueille une cafétéria, des services, des salles de formation et la bibliothèque. Depuis l’inauguration de la 3ème tour en 2019, la galérie s'étend aujourd’hui sur une longueur de 630 mètres et offre un nouvel accès au site dans la partie nord-ouest au moyen d’un large escalier la reliant à la troisième tour et au parvis du palais.

Plus épaisse que les deux tours jumelles déjà existantes, la 3e tour est constituée de deux parties légèrement décalées. Une partie est égale en proportions aux deux tours jumelles A et B et également de couleur dorée, tandis que la tranche plus épaisse est de couleur sombre à effet miroir, rappelant la structure en anneau du palais. La tour C atteint 30 niveaux – six niveaux de plus que les tours A et B  – et représente avec ses 118 mètres le bâtiment le plus haut du Grand-Duché. En son sommet, elle héberge un belvédère et, à son pied, des fonctions annexes tels que des salles de réunion, une imprimerie, un data center et des installations sportives. La cinquième extension permet de regrouper dorénavant tous les services de la Cour sur un seul site.

A terme, un jardin sur le thème du multilinguisme sera aménagé au Nord-Est de l’enceinte. Il intégrera les mesures de sécurité spécifiques aux Institutions européennes, de façon à créer une transition fluide vers l’espace à caractère public. L’emplacement du jardin reposera sur des terrains appartenant au Fonds qui garderont un statut de réserve pour une future extension de la Cour de justice de l’Union européenne.

 

Dernière modification le