Nature in an urban environment

A green infrastructure

The green spaces in an urban environment constitute a space for relaxation that is beneficial to human health and can provide a refuge for species suffering the destruction of their natural habitats. Against that background, the Kirchberg Fund is committed to pursuing an environmental approach to the development and upkeep of public spaces.

The benefits:

  • Better air quality, thanks to the “green lung” effect of the vegetation, which absorbs CO2 and produces oxygen
  • Flood prevention, in the event of heavy rain: With more permeable and greened surfaces, the water does not accumulate on the surface but gradually penetrates the ground, to link up with the groundwater
  • Creating a substitute ecosystem for threatened plants and insects
  • Water savings, because wild plants – adapted to the local conditions – do not need watering
  • Preventing heat islands in summer, thanks to the refreshing effect of the vegetation
  • Improving water quality, following the decision not to use pesticides
  • Increasing biodiversity
  • A less stark break between vegetation and roadway: taking inspiration from historical references, constructing paths using gravel or gapped paving stones brings significant biodiversity and encourages water percolation. 

Last update

Nature en millieu urbain

Une infrastructure verte

Les espaces verts en milieu urbain constituent un espace de détente bénéfique à la santé humaine et  peuvent fournir un refuge pour les espèces qui souffrent de la destruction de leurs habitats naturels. C'est dans ce contexte que le Fonds Kirchberg s'est engagé à poursuivre une approche écologique pour l'aménagement et l'entretien des espaces publics.
Les avantages:
  • Une meilleure qualité de l'air grâce à l'effet "poumon vert" de la végétation, qui absorbe du CO2 et produit de l'oxygène
  • La prévention des inondations en cas de fortes pluies:  avec davantage de surfaces perméables et végétalisables, l'eau ne s'accumule pas en surface et s'infiltre progressivement dans le sol pour rejoindre la nappe phréatique
  • La création d'un écosystème de substitution pour des plantes et insectes menacés
  • Une économie en eau, car les plantes sauvages, adaptées aux conditions locales, n'ont pas besoin d'arrossage
  • La prévention des ilôts de chaleur en été grâce à l'effet rafraîchissant de la végétation
  • Une amélioration de la qualité l'eau suite à la renonciation de pesticides
  • Augmentation de la biodiversité
  • Une discontinuité moins nette entre la végétation et la chaussée: s'inspirant des référence historique, l'aménagement des chemins en graviers ou pavés sans joints apporte une biodiversité importante et favorise l'infiltration de l'eau. 

Dernière modification le