Assignments and operation

We build the Kirchberg

The Funds Kirchberg is the Public establishment which under the supervision of the Minister of Public Works is in charge of the urbanisation and the layout of the Plateau de Kirchberg.

The Fund was set up following the Act of the 7th of August 1961 for the establishment of a Fund for the Urbanisation and Development of the Kirchberg Plateau, later amended on several occasions (see hereafter, the Act of 1961). The Fund is administered by a board of directors consisting of nine members appointed by the Grand-Duke, on a proposal by the Government in Cabinet. It is managed on a daily basis by a director and an executive bureau which consists of the director and four members of the board.

The Fund, alone, bears the costs of all expenditure relative to its operation and its investments. To this end, it has access to the proceeds of its real estate activities (sales, granting of leasehold, rents). The Fund uses commercial accounting and is subject to scrutiny by the Court of Auditors.

Assignements


Under the 1961 act, several tasks classified as being of public interest were assigned to the Fund. Three still remain today: the Pont Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, urbanisation and development of the Kirchberg Plateau, and the plateau’s road network (and related aspects).

Thus the Fund was assigned the task of constructing the Pont Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, and continues to be responsible for major maintenance or improvement works on the bridge such as repainting or the widening for the tram. Next, the Fund is responsible for the urbanisation and development of the Kirchberg Plateau; its principal task. This involves full implementation of the Management Action Plan (MAP) of the City of Luxembourg, or, if required, its modification in close collaboration with the City authorities, and developing the land on the Kirchberg Plateau to its full potential in the most appropriate manner.

The present political will is to prioritise the construction of residences and, more specifically, affordable homes to be sold below market price. Within the framework of this urbanisation and development, the Fund is fulfilling its final task – to develop the road infrastructure; an essential prerequisite for the urbanisation of the plots of land.

Means

With regard to real estate operations, the Fund fulfils the task of land urbanisation principally through leasehold (ownership rights, rights of emphyteusis and/or surface area rights). These leases are generally subject to the completion of projects whose architectural design and project specifications are set by the Fund in a more or less precise manner by directives which apply to the Plateau in general, to a district or to a single project, on the basis of preliminary studies and over and above local council urban directives.

Regarding residential buildings at the present time, the leases are granted by awarding rights of surface area and emphyteusis for a period of 99 years. Regarding other uses (shops, offices, and other), the leases are more often granted by according surface area rights for varying lengths of time.

Every lease must be the subject of a competition between candidates, or of special authorisation by the Government in Cabinet and must, in every case, be approved by the supervising minister.

As part of these preliminary studies for the orientation of urbanisation and development, for the definition of the development directives, as well as within these directives, the Fund is presently placing emphasis on the circular economy and co-creation as well as urban development on a human scale.

The process of review and approval for requests for building authorisation on land on the Kirchberg Plateau first entails verification by the Fund with respect to its directives before being forwarded to the communal administration of the City of Luxembourg.

Furthermore, the work, materials, and services carried out directly for the Fund are so done within the public procurement legislation.

 

Last update

Missions et fonctionnement du Fonds

Nous construisons le Kirchberg

Le Fonds Kirchberg est l’établissement public qui sous la tutelle du ministre de la Mobilité et des Travaux Publics est en charge de l’urbanisation et de l’aménagement du Plateau de Kirchberg.

Le Fonds Kirchberg a été créé par la loi du 7 août 1961 relative à la création d’un Fonds d’urbanisation et d’aménagement du Plateau de Kirchberg, telle que modifiée à plusieurs reprises (ci-après, la loi de 1961). Le Fonds est administré par un Conseil d’administration (CA) composé de neuf membres, nommés par le Grand-Duc sur proposition du Gouvernement en conseil, et est géré au quotidien par un Directeur et un Bureau, composé du Directeur et de quatre membres du CA.

Le Fonds supporte seul les dépenses relatives à son fonctionnement et à ses investissements et dispose pour ce faire du produit de ses opérations immobilières (cession, concession de droits réels, location). Le Fonds tient une comptabilité commerciale et il est soumis au contrôle de la Cour des comptes.

Missions

Le Fonds s’est vu attribuer par la loi de 1961 plusieurs missions, qualifiées d’intérêt public, dont trois subsistent aujourd’hui, à savoir le Pont Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, l’urbanisation et l’aménagement du Plateau de Kirchberg et la voirie (et ses accessoires) sur le Plateau de Kirchberg.
Le Fonds a donc eu pour première mission la construction du Pont Grande-Duchesse Charlotte. Cette mission persiste pour les travaux d’entretien lourd et/ou d’amélioration du pont (par exemple la remise en peinture ou l’élargissement pour le passage du tram). Le Fonds est ensuite responsable de l’urbanisation et de l’aménagement du Plateau de Kirchberg. C’est sa mission principale. Cela implique la complète mise en œuvre du Plan d’aménagement général (PAG) de la Ville de Luxembourg, le cas échéant modifié en bonne concertation avec la Ville, et le développement de l’ensemble du potentiel des terrains sur le Plateau de Kirchberg, de la manière jugée la plus opportune.

Actuellement, la volonté politique prévoit de donner la priorité à la création de logements, et plus précisément à la création de logement abordable (commercialisé à un prix inférieur à celui du marché). C’est dans le cadre de cette urbanisation et cet aménagement que la dernière mission du Fonds, à savoir la réalisation de la voirie, se réalise. La voirie est en effet un préalable nécessaire à l’urbanisation de terrains.

Moyens

Pour ce qui est des opérations immobilières, le Fonds procède majoritairement à l’urbanisation des terrains dans le cadre de cessions de droits réels (droit de propriété, droit(s) d’emphytéose et/ou de superficie). Ces cessions sont généralement conditionnées à la réalisation de projets dont le cadre architectural et programmatique est prédéfini par le Fonds, de manière plus ou moins précise, par des Directives, applicables au Plateau en général, à un quartier ou à un projet, sur base d’études préalables, et ce au-delà des prescriptions urbanistiques communales.

Actuellement, pour ce qui est des logements, les cessions sont réalisées par l’octroi de droits de superficie et d’emphytéose pour une durée de 99 ans. Pour ce qui est des autres fonctions (commerces, bureaux, …), les cessions sont le plus souvent réalisées par l’octroi de droit de superficie pour des durées variables.

Toute cession doit faire l’objet d’une mise en concurrence des candidats intéressés ou d’une autorisation spéciale du Gouvernement en Conseil et, en tout état de cause, être approuvée par le Ministre de tutelle.

Dans le cadre de ses études préalables pour l’orientation de l’urbanisation et l’aménagement, pour la définition des Directives d’aménagement, de même que dans ces Directives, le Fonds met actuellement l’accent sur l’économie circulaire et la co-création ainsi que sur l’urbanisme à l’échelle humaine.

La procédure d’examen et d’approbation des projets d’autorisation de bâtir concernant des terrains sur le Plateau de Kirchberg implique d’abord une vérification par le Fonds du respect de ses Directives avant transmission à l’Administration communale de la Ville de Luxembourg.

Par ailleurs, les travaux, fournitures et services réalisés directement pour le Fonds le sont dans le cadre de la législation sur les marchés publics.

 

Dernière modification le